I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 27(LS)

As amended.

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio Edward J.B. Calvo <u>A. R. Unpingco</u> Frank F. Blas, Jr. James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio D. L.G. Shimizu J. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending the Guam Raceway Federation on the Twenty-fifth (25th) Anniversary of the annual "Smokin' Wheels" competition and for its many contributions to Guam.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN 2 GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, Guam Smokin' Wheels started a long time tradition in 1978
on the hills of Talofofo with two (2) events: the off-road motorcycle and the
buggy & truck endurance competitions; and

6 WHEREAS, the participants of the first Smokin' Wheels Race included
7 local enthusiasts and racing legends Mr. Henry Simpson, Mr. George Flores,

Mr. Bill Flores, Mr. John Camacho, Mr. Joey Crisostomo, Mr. Luis Baza, Mr.
 Tom Tanarte and Mr. Dennis Quinones; and

WHEREAS, this inaugural race was organized by Mr. Dave Eckert,
who later formed the Guam Racing Association, and with the help of Henry
Simpson, John Camacho and other racing enthusiasts; and

6 WHEREAS, in 1979, a gentleman named Mr. Etsuo Watabiki saw the 7 potential for this race to become an International Event and asked his friends 8 Mr. Tetsuji Yuasa and Mr. Nobu Hachiki from the Japan ATV Association to 9 solicit people to come to Guam to compete in the Smokin' Wheels Race; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Yuasa accepted the invitation and ever since members
of the Japan ATV Association have competed in every Smokin' Wheels Race;
and

13 WHEREAS, United States off-road racing legend Mr. Malcolm Smith
14 also competed in the 1979 Smokin' Wheels Race; and

15 WHEREAS, the original Guam Raceway Park, located in Talisay, Santa 16 Rita, was made possible by the generosity of Jose and Herminia Calvo, who 17 offered the use of their private property free of charge so that off road 18 enthusiasts could have a safe place to practice and compete; and

WHEREAS, in 1997, Public Law 24-141, authored by then Senator Larry
Kasperbauer, authorized construction of the Guam International Raceway in
2000. The Guam Racing Federation dedicated the Raceway as "Jose and
Herminia Calvo Memorial Off Road Park"; and

WHEREAS, through the efforts of Mr. Henry Simpson and other racing
devotees, the Guam Racing Federation was formed and took over Guam's
largest off road racing event; and

WHEREAS, in 2001, after a four (4) year hiatus, the Guam Smokin'
 Wheels was held at the newly-built Jose and Herminia Calvo Memorial Off
 Road Park; and

WHEREAS, this began a new era for the Guam Smokin' Wheels as
many professional off-road competitors who have raced the Baja 500 and Baja
1000 and other notable events, participated in the annual Smokin' Wheels
event; and

8 WHEREAS, since the arrival of Mr. Malcolm Smith in 1979, Guam has 9 played host to other off-road racing legends such as Ivan 'Iron Man' Stewart, 10 Roger Mears, Walker Evens, Rory Chenowth, and Rick Johnson who have 11 made the Guam Smokin' Wheels part of their annual race schedule; and

WHEREAS, the recent inclusion of other motor-sport activities as part of the Smokin' Wheels event by the current Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Guam Racing Federation, James Martinez and Eddie Cruz Jr., has given spectators a variety of racing action that includes motorcycle, ATV, buggy & truck endurance races, drag racing, drifting, autocross, 4x4 rock crawling, 4x4 mud bog and, for the first time this year, radio control off road racing; and

18 WHEREAS, over the last twenty-five (25) years, the Guam Smokin' 19 Wheels has survived many trials and tribulations and continues to be the 20 premier off-road and motor-sport event in the Western Pacific; now, therefore, 21 be it

RESOLVED, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does
 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, congratulate Guam Smokin' Wheels
 on its Twenty-fifth (25th) Anniversary Celebration; and be it further

3

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 1 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 2 thereafter transmitted to Mr. Henry Simpson; to Mr. Etsuo Watabiki; to Mr. 3 Tetsuji Yuasa; to Mr. John Camacho; to Mr. Joey Crisostomo; to Mr. Dennis 4 Quinones; to Mr. Tom Tanarte; to Mr. Luis Baza; to Mr. George Flores; to Mr. 5 6 Bill Flores; to Mr. Eddie Cruz Jr.; to Mr. James Martinez and Mr. Ricardo 7 Calvo, representing the family of the late Jose & Herminia Calvo; Former 8 Senator Lawrence Kasperbauer; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan. 9

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 10^{TH} DAY OF APRIL 2007.

MÅRK FORBES RAY TENORIO Speaker Senator and Secretary of the Legislature