I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 180-30 (45)

Introduced by:

v c. pangelinan

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

TRUMUNG BOVINGO

Lors of Seam

Relative to commending and congratulating the members of the "48th University of Guam Student Government Association" as they assume office for the 2009 to 2010 Academic year; and to thanking the members and advisors of the "47th University of Guam Student Government Association" for their service, commitment and diligence during the 2008 to 2009 Academic year.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN

- 2 GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, the 2009 to 2010 Academic year rings in a new era of
- 4 leaders tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the fulfillment of
- 5 the mission of the University of Guam; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the members of the 48th University of Guam Student
- 7 Government Association (UOG SGA) include Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon
- 8 Guerrero II, President; Lisa Maureen Terlaje Meeks, Vice-President; Angelica
- 9 Topasna Mantanona, Treasurer; Leilani Perez Sablan, Secretary; Leonora Uson
- 10 Balajadia, Regina Fergurgur Bato, Frank Lee San Nicolas Borja, Raymond
- 11 David Gibson, Paciano Naputi Gumataotao, Heather Mendiola Leon

- 1 Guerrero, Bianca Nicole Nguyen, Christian Jay Santiago, Charles San Jose
- 2 Santos, and Johnny Masao Silbanuez, Senators; and
- WHEREAS, as members of the 48th UOG SGA, they will continue the
- 4 work of past student governments including opportunities for self-expression
- 5 remain and the formation of new and improved educational programs
- 6 continues; and
- WHEREAS, the 48th UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble, aims to set
- 8 and practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate
- 9 activities for UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of
- 10 the institution and the island-community; and
- 11 **WHEREAS**, the members of the 47th UOG SGA include: Benjamin F.A.
- 12 Leon Guerrero II, President; Remylynn Burlaza, Vice President; Jason G.
- 13 Aradanas, Treasurer; Leilani P. Sablan, Secretary; and Lisa Maureen T. Meeks,
- 14 Interim Vice-President, Angelica T. Mantanona, Interim Treasurer and
- 15 Faedene Aldan, Regina F. Bato, Joaquin Diego, Raymond D. Gibson, Paciano
- 16 N. Gumataotao, Aubry Gale Hocog, Heather Marie M. Leon Guerrero, Kyle
- 17 Mesa, Albert Perez Jr., Christian Jay Santiago, Charles S.J. Santos, Phoebe
- 18 Tadeo and Darlene Mae Vigil-Santiago, Senators; and
- 19 WHEREAS, those advisors that provided guidance to the 47th UOG
- 20 SGA include: Senior Advisor Dr. Ansito Walter, Division of Public
- 21 Administration; and Advisor Dr. Donald Platt, Division of Social/Behavioral
- 22 Sciences, Advisor Dr. Michael Griffin, Communications & Fine Arts; and
- 23 Honorary Senior Advisor Dr. Richard Matheny, Division of Social/Behavioral
- 24 Sciences; and

1	WHEREAS, through their experience with the UOG SGA and the
2	education attained at UOG, the SGA members of today are prepared to
3	become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it
4	RESOLVED, that I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, or
5	behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, commend and
6	congratulate all the members of the 48th University of Guam Student
7	Government Association, and wish them great success during the 2009 to 2010
8	Academic year; and be it further
9	RESOLVED, that I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, or
10	behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam thank all the members
11	and advisors of the 47th University of Guam Student Government Association
12	for their service, commitment, and diligence during the 2008 to 2009
13	Academic year; and be it further
14	RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the
15	Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be
16	thereafter transmitted to Mr. Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II,
17	President, 46th, 47th & 48th University of Guam, Student Government
18	Association; to Dr. Robert Underwood, President, University of Guam; and to
19	the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 28th DAY OF AUGUST 2009.

JUDITH WON PAT	Tina Muna-Barnes
Speaker	Senator and Secretary of the Legislature