I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 120 (LS)

Introduced by:

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

T. R. Muña Barnes

J. V. Espaldon

Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

T. C. Ada

F. F. Blas, Jr.

E. J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

v. c. pangelinan

M. J. Rector

R. J. Respicio

Telo Taitague

Ray Tenorio

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing the "One Hundred Eleventh (111th) Anniversary of the Proclamation of the Independence of the Republic of the Philippines", and to congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam on its observance of this historic occasion.

- 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN
- 2 GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, the Proclamation of the Independence of the Republic of

1 the Philippines is observed every year on the twelfth (12th) of June; and

WHEREAS, the Republic of the Philippines gained its independence through the sacrifices of many Filipino heroes, such as, Dr. Jose Rizal, the National Hero of the Philippines, who wrote "Noli Me Tangere" (The Lost Eden), which popularized independence sentiment, and whose execution by the Spanish fostered public outrage and rebellion; Andres Bonifacio, who led the Cry of Balintawak; General Emilio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle of Binakayan; and Apolinario Mabini, known as the "Sublime Paralytic" and the "Brain of the Revolution"; and

WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was also supported by noted Filipinas, such as, Melchora Aquino, known as "Tandang Sora", who was exiled to the Marianas by the Spanish Government; Teresa Magbanua, a twenty-eight (28) year old teacher, who was one of the first women to lead men into battle; and other Filipina heroines from all walks of life who joined the Revolutionary Forces; and

WHEREAS, the culmination of the struggle for independence came on June 12, 1898, when General Emilio Aguinaldo declared the Philippines' Independence at his hometown of Kawit, Cavite, where thousands of people from the provinces gathered to witness this historic event, including, the dramatic unfurling of the Philippine Flag while the Philippine National Anthem was being played in public for the first time, after which the "Act of the Declaration of Independence" was solemnly read by its author, Ambrosio

- 1 Rianzares Bautista, who patterned it after the American Declaration of
- 2 Independence; and
- 3 WHEREAS, said Declaration was adopted by the Assembly of
- 4 Municipal Presidents, and was ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the
- 5 Philippines in Malolos, Bulacan, on September 1898, as an expression of the
- 6 sovereign will of the Filipino people; and
- 7 **WHEREAS**, the Filipino Community of Guam celebrates Philippine
- 8 Independence annually with various activities such as: Santacruzan, the
- 9 Filipino religious-historical procession; a Philippine food festival at the Alize
- 10 Restaurant in the Guam Reef Hotel during the entire month of June; a flag-
- 11 raising ceremony at the Philippine Consulate Office of Guam at the ITC
- 12 Building "Vin d' Honneur" at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, hosted by the
- 13 Philippine Consul General on Guam on June 13; a Thanksgiving Mass at the
- 14 Dulce Nombre de Maria Cathedral Basilica and a wreath-laying ceremony at the
- 15 War in the Pacific National Historical Park in Asan on June 14; and the
- 16 Filipino Community of Guam's Philippine Independence Ball at the Sheraton
- 17 Laguna Guam Hotel on June 26 to celebrate the numerous contributions that
- 18 Filipinos have made to the island; now, therefore, be it
- 19 **RESOLVED**, that *I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on
- 20 behalf of the people of Guam, recognize the "One Hundred Eleventh (111th)
- 21 Anniversary of the Proclamation of the Independence of the Republic of the

- 1 Philippines", and does further congratulate the Filipino Community of Guam;
- 2 and be it further
- 3 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and Legislative Secretary attest
- 4 to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted
- 5 to Alex Gagaring, President, Filipino Community of Guam; to the Honorable
- 6 Olivia Palala, Consul General of the Philippines to Guam; to the Honorable
- 7 Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, President of the Philippines; and to the Honorable
- 8 Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS 29TH DAY OF MAY 2009.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D Speaker RORY JARESPICIO
Acting Legislative Secretary